The Cyber-Cave

Reflections on the political, technological, cultural and economic trends of the world

Jean Sibelius

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957), a post-romantic musician, is considered to be Finland’s national composer. Indeed, Sibelius often used references from Nordic mythology and traits of the Finnish national identity in his music at a time when Finland was fighting for independence against Russia. Some Finns have even suggested that Sibelius’ tone poem ‘Finlandia’ should be considered as Finland’s national hymn.
A staunch freemason (he created his own lodge in Finland and also became ‘Grand Organist of the Grand Lodge of Finland’), he also composed ritual music for freemasonry just like Mozart.

“If I could express the same thing with words as with music, I would, of course, use a verbal expression. Music is something autonomous and much richer. Music begins where the possibilities of language end. That is why I write music. “
(Interview with Berlingske Tidende, 10th June 1919)


-Piano Trio in D minor – Korpo trio (1887): chamber music
-En Saga (1892): symphonic poem on Nordic fairy lands
-Kullervo (1892)
-Karelia Suite (1893)
-No.6 Comodo: E Major – 6 Impromptus (1893): piano piece
-The Wood-Nymph Ballade (1894)
-Lemminkäinen Suite (1895)
-Symphony 1 (1899)
-Finlandia (1899)
-Symphony 2 (1902):
-Pelléas and Mélisande (1905)
-Belshazzar’s Feast (1906)
-Swanwhite (1908)
-Scaramouche (1913)
-Symphony 5 (1915)
-Suite for violin and orchestra, op 117 (1929)
-The Tempest (1925-26)
-Tapiola (1926)


%d bloggers like this: